Fork me on GitHub Open Source
Knowledgebase
Commentics > Support > Knowledgebase

Search help:


How does the Task System work?

Solution

The 'Task System' is a feature of Commentics which is able to automatically run scheduled tasks. This allows the script to perform important functions, such as removing old data, which keeps the database efficient, fast, and small. The Task System is executed every time that a frontend page is viewed by your website users. This FAQ aims to explain each task and, in particular, what consequences they have on the script.

To understand the majority of the individual tasks of the Task System, it is first necessary to appreciate that IP addresses are often dynamic and therefore change regularly. An IP address will typically change every few weeks, depending on the user's Internet provider. Considering this, there is little point in the script keeping IP address related data for more than this time. In rare cases not dealing with this could even result in users being wrongly identified, leading to an inability to vote or flag a comment. The Task System regards '30 days' as the time frame that an IP address stays valid and useful.

Delete Bans

This task deletes old bans from the database. Users are in most cases banned using both a cookie and their IP address. However either method are used to detect the user. Since their IP address is likely to change, and considering that people clear their cookies occasionally, after 30 days the ban will become redundant, therefore wasting needless disk space. The worst consequence of executing this task is that a banned user may be able to post again.

Delete Comments

This task deletes old comments from the database. Disabled by default, this task was requested by the community. This can be a useful feature if you have a very large number of comments being submitted and you only want to keep the most recent. The consequence of executing this task is deleting comments that can not be recovered so make sure you're certain first.

Delete Reporters

This task deletes the reporters and not the reports. The number of reports are actually stored as part of the comment. The reporters are stored separately and they are kept to prevent users from reporting the same comment more than once. However after 30 days their IP address can no longer be accurate. The worst consequence of executing this task is that a user may be able to report the same comment twice.

Delete Subscriptions

This task deletes subscriptions where the user has not clicked the confirmation link in their email. In this case it is possible that the user entered a false email address, or simply changed their mind. Storing the unconfirmed subscription for a while is useful because it prevents the user from repeatedly requesting confirmation emails to the same email address (which may not belong to them). The worst consequence of executing this task is that the user may eventually click on the expired confirmation link in their email and the script will not recognise the link. However once a subscription is deleted the user can request another confirmation email.

Delete Voters

This task deletes the voters and not the votes. The number of Likes and Dislikes (votes) are actually stored as part of the comment. The voters are stored separately and they are kept to prevent users from voting for the same comment more than once. However after 30 days their IP address can no longer be accurate. The worst consequence of executing this task is that a user may be able to vote for the same comment twice.

 
Was this article helpful? yes / no
Related articles How does the email subscription feature work?
How does the report / flag feature work?
Why am I not receiving any emails?
How secure is Commentics?
How do I edit the captcha?
Article details
Article ID: 31
Category: General
Date added: 2011-09-01 14:19:54
Views: 937
Rating (Votes): Article rated 4.3/5.0 (23)

 
« Go back

 
Powered by Help Desk Software HESK, brought to you by SysAid